Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

View menu
Close menu

You are in:

  1. Corporate Governance
  2. Board of Directors

DIA CorporateBoard of Directors

Start of main content

DIA’s board of directors is made up of 7 members, of which three are independent, one executive and three proprietaries. Their term of office is three years from the appointment or, in this case, the reelection by the AGM.

Mr. Stephan DuCharme

Chairman of the Board of DIA / External Proprietary Director

Date of the appointment: 21st May, 2019 (by co-optation)

Holds a Degree in Political Science and Economics from University of California at Berkeley and an MBA from INSEAD (France). He has over 30 years of experience leading cutting-edge organisations in the financial, industrial and retail sectors. He is currently the Chairman of the Supervisory Board of food retailer X5 Retail Group, where he led the company’s successful reconversion plan between 2012 and 2015 as CEO. Mr. DuCharme has sat on the boards of companies such as SUEK Siberian Coal & Energy Company, First Ukraine International Bank, Iberia Refreshments and Lomisis JSC. Starting his professional career at Salomon Brothers in 1987, Mr. Ducharme has also held posts at the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD) and Alfa Group.

Mr. Karl-Heinz Holland

Chief Executive Officer of DIA / Executive Director

Date of the appointment: 21st May, 2019 (by co-optation)

Holds a degree in Business from Augsburg University of Applied Sciences. He is considered one of Western Europe’s leading retail experts. From 1991 and for the next 23 years, Mr. Karl-Heinz Holland’s professional career was tied to Lidl Stiftung & Co., where he rose to become CEO in 2008. He later led Lidl’s expansion across Europe, which was a milestone in the retail industry. With over 30 years' experience in the sector, Holland is currently a member of the Supervisory Board of food retailer X5 Retail Group and the Boards of Directors of, among others, European fashion outlets Takko Fashion and circular economy pioneer Der Gruene Punkt.

Mr. Michael Joseph Casey

Member of the Board of DIA / External Proprietary Director

Date of the appointment: 21st May, 2019 (by co-optation)

Holds a Master in History and Political Science from Trinity College, Dublin and an MBA from University of Chicago. Between 2003 and 2017, he worked at Goldman Sachs, becoming Managing Director and Head of EMEA Retail Investment Banking. Prior to that, between 1997 and 2002, he was a manager at Andersen Consulting’s M&A and Corporate Strategy practice.

Mr. Christian Couvreux

Member of the Board of DIA/  Independent Director

Date of the appointment: 21st May, 2019 (by co-optation)

Holds a Master Degree in Economic Sciences from Paris University and completed an Advanced Management Program at INSEAD (France). He has spent the lion’s share of his professional career at Groupe Casino, a French convenience store chain, which he joined in 1990. After being CEO and Chairman of the Management Board from 1997 to 2003, Mr. Couvreux was appointed Deputy Chairman of Groupe Casino. Prior to that, he was General Manager of CFAO, the food retailing branch of the Kernig Group. Mr. Couvreux was a member of the Supervisory Board of food retailer X5 Retail Group, and the Board of Directors of Martinet and various other companies belonging to Groupe Casino.

Mr. Sergio  Dias

Member of the Board of DIA / External Proprietary Director

Date of the appointment: 21st May, 2019 (by co-optation)

Holds a Degree in Business Administration – Finance and Marketing – from Fundação Armando Alvarez Penteado (Brazil). This investor, entrepreneur and start-up advisor has been key to the creation and strategic development of companies and brands around the world. An expert in retailing and the food industry, he joined Carrefour Group in 1988, where he rose to become Deputy CFO and General Manager of the non-food eCommerce sites. In 2002 he joined LVMH Moët Hennessy to leads its Wines and Spirits Division before being appointed CEO of Millennium (Belvedere Vodka), which also forms part of the group, in 2005. Mr. Ferreira Dias has also been Executive Chairman of SecretSales.com and CEO of Brands4friends.de, among other posts.

M. Jaime García-Legaz Ponce

Member of the Board of DIA / Independent Director 

Date of appointment: 20th March, 2019 (on an interim basis on 10th January, 2019 and ratified by the AGM on 20th March, 2019)

Holds a Bachelor Degree in Economics and Business Administration from CUNEF (Spain) and a PhD in Economics from Universidad Complutense de Madrid. He has been a State Trade Expert and Economist since 1994. Mr. García-Legaz has held important positions in Spanish Government bodies, rising to become Secretary of State for Commerce, International Trade and Foreign Investment from 2011 to 2015. Between 2015 and 2017, he was Executive Chairman of CESCE, Chairman of the International Consortium of Credit Insurers (CIAC in Spanish) and Chairman of Dun & Bradsteet. Lastly, between 2017 and 2018 he was Executive Chairman and CEO of AENA.

M. José Wahnon Levy

Member of the Board of DIA / Independent Director

Date of the appointment: 21st May, 2019 (by co-optation)

Has a Degree in Economics from Universidad de Barcelona, a Law Degree from Universidad Complutense de Madrid and completed a PMD at Harvard Business School. He began his professional career at PwC, where he was made partner in 1987. He headed up the Financial Services area at PwC from 1987 to 2003 and the Audit Division between 2003 and 2007. Mr. Wahnon has been an independent member of the Abengoa board since 2016 and has also held board-level positions at major companies of the likes of Ezentis, Dexia-Sabadell and Bankia.

End of main content